Did I really just spend that much on sushi?

Went out for sushi last night to Zen Japanese restaurant in Belfast. I didn’t think it would be possible for me to have sushi at all while I was here but I have now learned that if you have enough cash anything is possible. The grand total was £50 (over $100) for assorted sashimi, 1 california roll, 1 futomaki and one order of duck something or other (clearly Chinese owners) and 2 pints of Stella. Once I got over how expensive it was the meal was very enjoyable, the freshest sashimi I have ever had. My friend Gary was trying sushi for the first time ever and I was quite impressed at how adventurous he was though he definitley was breaking out in a sweat over it all. He was so brave I even decided to have some tako even though I never eat anything with tentacles as a rule and luckily enough for me salmon was his least favourite. They must really make a killing though I bet the ingredients are quite a bit more expensive here than they would be in Vancouver.

I actually got to hear a Chinese person with a Belfast accent, it was excellent. Clearly they should only have Chinese or Canadian or American accents…that’s just what I’m used to. The decor in the restaurant was very fancy and overdone but hey, why not if you’re making that much money.

I will have to save hot pot until I get home for sure. Haven’t seen any sort of hot pot here nevermind shabu shabu. MMm, no place is better than the place with no english name in Richmond anyway I’m sure of it.

